Home   |   Make Payment   |   JTE   |   My.Scouting   |   Training   |   Contact

Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps in overcoming them through the advancement method. Scouts' plan their advancement and progresses at their own pace as they meet each challenge. The Scout is rewarded for each achievement, which helps them gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others.

Cooking Merit Badge

There have been two recent UNRELATED changes with Cooking merit badge.
1) Cooking merit badge is now required for Eagle. If you completed all your requirements except your board of review before January 1, 2014, you should have an application signed as verified by the council office, and you are good without Cooking merit badge, otherwise you will need to earn Cooking merit badge to complete the rank of Eagle Scout. It does not matter which set of requirements (see below) were used.
2) The requirements for Cooking merit badge have changed.


  • Scouts who already started Cooking MB using old requirements: They’re fine and may finish with the old requirements. They will not need to re-earn the merit badge with the new requirements, but they may switch to the new ones if they choose. There is no time limit between starting and completing a badge, although a counselor may determine so much time has passed since any effort took place that the new requirements must be used.
  • Scouts who already earned Cooking MB: They may purchase or be presented with the new, silver-bordered Cooking MB patch (regardless which requirements were involved). They don’t need to re-earn it now that it’s Eagle-required. But they can’t wear both the green- and the silver-bordered versions.
  • Scouts who begin Cooking MB in 2013 or 2014: They may use the old or new requirements — their choice.
  • Scouts who begin Cooking MB in 2015 or beyond: They must use the new requirements. 


Scouts BSA
Thank you to our
Major Event Sponsors: